• 21 FEB 15
    • 0


    Basic Information about Luxembourg

    Luxembourg is a landlocked country in Western Europe bordering Germany, Belgium and France. The country is divided into two distinct geographical regions. The woody uplands of the Ardennes in the north and the fertile lowlands of the south called Bon Pays. The capital is Luxembourg. The population amounts to 0.5 million. The national language is Luxembourgish, while French is used for administrative and media purposes, although German is the main written language for the press.

    The Higher Education System

    The University Sector

    The University of Luxembourg was created in July 2003. The institution comprises nearly all the former existing institutions of higher education in Luxembourg.

    At present, the University of Luxembourg is organised in three faculties: Sciences, Technology and Communication; Law, Economics and Finance; Languages and Literature, Humanities, Arts and Education.

    The University of Luxembourg offers first-degree courses leading to bachelor’s degrees in the fields of law, economics, European culture studies (languages, human sciences), educational sciences, psychology, social sciences, life sciences, engineering, informatics, natural sciences and technology.

    Master’s degrees are also awarded. The various programmes are offered in close co-operation with foreign universities (in Belgium, France or Germany).

    There are also various non-state-run initiatives offering postgraduate courses. For example, the Chamber for Private Sector Employees (Chambre des Employés Privés) organises a one-year course in collaboration with the Institute of Business Administration (of France’s Université Nancy II), leading to a French postgraduate degree.

    The University of Luxembourg offers students the opportunity to pursue doctoral studies under the supervision of academic staff authorised to manage doctoral theses (registration). These theses can be managed either autonomously by the University of Luxembourg or in conjunction with a co-supervisor who is also authorised to manage research resulting from a foreign research institution.

    The Non-University Sector

    The non-university sector consists of two years’ training at the further education level in a limited number of vocational areas (this selection of areas are offered by further education colleges) leading to a Brevet de Technicien Supérieur (higher technician’s diploma).


    The Centre for Educational Guidance and Counselling (Centre de Documentation et d’Information sur l’Enseignment Supérieur) provides prospective students with information about higher education courses and practical information about student life in Luxembourg. Details of courses can always be obtained by approaching counselor of ESC.

    The International Institute allocates a number of scholarships to students. If a scholarship is sought, applicants should attach an academic reference or, if they are already employed in a profession, a reference from their employer.

    Leave a reply →